Governor’s Energy Excellence Awards Honors Michigan’s Energy Leaders

Governor's Energy Excellence Awards logo

2 018 marked the fourth and final Governor’s Energy Excellence Awards under former governor Rick Snyder’s administration, and another successful celebration of Michigan’s energy innovators, trendsetters, and those committed to responsible energy production and consumption. On September 5, nearly 150 people gathered for a ceremony to honor individuals and organizations for their cutting-edge energy-efficiency projects, underlining the pivotal role they play in making Michigan a national leader in energy-efficient practices. Winners were announced by Governor Snyder and recognized during the awards ceremony at the Goei Center in Grand Rapids.

“Michigan has made incredible strides in advancing clean energy, making our future brighter, and saving money for residents across the board,” Snyder said the night of the awards. “The progress we’ve made is a result of employers, utilities, municipalities, and many others taking innovative approaches to address our energy needs. I’m incredibly proud that Michigan continues to be a national leader in reduction of energy waste and costs, and I thank all the employers and individuals honored for their contributions.”

The 21 winners and finalists pioneered projects such as an energy-efficient steel supplier plant in a repurposed 90-year-old historic building in Detroit; the largest net-zero energy center in the state; and a school district in Flint lowering operation costs through insulation and envelope improvements, HVAC equipment, LED street lights, and a new energy management system.

“For four great years, we enjoyed the support of the Snyder administration, our sponsors, and steering committee members,” said Mary Templeton, president and CEO of Michigan Saves. “We are proud to have held the nation’s first state-sponsored energy efficiency awards and remain grateful to all involved. They have helped elevate the importance of energy waste reduction in our state in an effort to celebrate the people and organizations who have taken firm, meaningful actions to lead the way on energy conservation and efficiency.”

Alongside other partners like the Office of the Governor and the former Michigan Agency for Energy, Michigan Saves launched the awards in 2015. The event was designed to inspire others to take action by highlighting individuals and organizations that have made energy efficiency an integral practice in their everyday lives.

“Michigan’s policies regarding our energy market, renewable energy, and energy waste reduction are helping fuel Michigan’s economy and create jobs in the process,” Snyder said. “We cannot forget, however, that our cheapest energy is that which isn’t used.”

Michigan dot map
Verso Corporation, Escanaba
Albert Heating & Cooling, Sault Ste. Marie
Dave Heinz, Petoskey
  • Roy Cole, Holland
  • Holland Board of Public Works, Holland
  • Residential Energy Performance Labeling Pilot Program, Holland
Major General Michael Stone, Lansing
  • ArcelorMittal, Detroit
  • IBEW Local 58, Detroit
  • Kenneth Randazzo, Detroit
Nancy Choura, South Haven
Otsego Apartments, Jackson
James Stump, Lyons
Genesee Intermediate School District, Flint
Van Buren Intermediate School District, Lawrence
Continental Dairy Facilities, LLC, Coopersville
Metea Court Apartments, Buchanan
Ecotelligent Homes, Farmington Hills
WMGB Home Improvement, Wyoming
  • EnergySmart Grocer, East Lansing
  • Homeless Shelters Initiative, Okemos

Hover or tap on the blinking dots to see finalists and winners.

Winners of the 2018
Governor’s Energy Excellence Awards

The GEEA winners’ energy solutions ranged from improving existing structures with energy-efficient, state-of-the-art heating, cooling, and lighting systems to constructing new buildings—all with a goal of reducing energy waste and improving overall sustainability.

Learn More about the Honorees

Finalists and Winners

Best Residential Project

  • Tom Tishler, Kalamazoo (winner)
  • Marti and Tom Burbeck, Ann Arbor (finalist)
  • Sandra Keirnan, Holland (finalist)

Best Commercial Project (Private)

  • Gateway Village, Sturgis (winner)
  • First Housing Corporation, Lansing (finalist)
  • Islamic Center of America, Dearborn (finalist)
  • Jackson National Life Insurance Company, Lansing (honorable mention)

Best Communication or Education Program

  • Consumers Energy, Okemos (winner)
  • GreenHome Institute, Grand Rapids (finalist)
  • The Heat and Warmth Fund, Detroit (finalist)

Best Agriculture Project

  • Friske Orchards, Charlevoix (winner)
  • Grand Valley Farms, Rives Junction (finalist)
  • Sklarczyk Seed Farm, Johannesburg (finalist)
  • Nash Greenhouses, LLC, Kalamazoo (honorable mention)

Best Public Project

  • Ewen-Trout Creek School District, Ewen (winner)
  • Kalamazoo Institute of Arts, Kalamazoo (finalist)
  • Public Libraries of Saginaw, Saginaw (finalist)
  • Ann Arbor Housing Commission, Ann Arbor (honorable mention)

Best Industrial/Manufacturing Project

  • HyCAL Corporation, Gibraltar (winner)
  • Verso Corporation, Escanaba (finalist)

Contractor of the Year

  • Better World Builders, LLC, Kalamazoo (winner)
  • Don Earl Heating & A/C, Sault Ste. Marie (finalist)
  • Medler Electric Company, Alma (finalist)

Innovator of the Year

  • Holland Energy Fund, Holland (winner)
  • Walt Dindoffer, Temperance (finalist)
  • Carla Walker-Miller, Detroit (finalist)
  • Southwest Housing Solutions, Detroit (honorable mention)


We Are Michigan’s Green Bank


Board and Partners